Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey
creates the 1st Lalique cristal barrel

Lafaurie-Peyraguey-10-2014-Copyright Deepix (19)-BD

Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey think large things for its 400thanniversary and has created for the event a barrel in crystal showed in the Château at Sauternes.

The visitors will have the chance to discover this great wine in an exceptional container in full transparency. This traditional barrel with 225 litres capacity (300 bottles) is now filed with Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey Grand Cru Classé 2013, the first vintage presided over by owner Silvio Denz.

Unique example in the world, this barrel in crystal is the result of a work of more than 2 years gathering 12 different craft skills, using notably the technique known as lost-wax casting that was practiced by René Lalique up to 1930. Its particularity? The mould are made from plaster instead of the customary cast iron. They are used for a single casting and their handling requires a high degree of skill. The “Femme et Raisins (Woman and Grapes)” motif, created by René Lalique in 1928 for the first-class sleeping cars on the Côte d’Azur Pullman Express, is engraved on the front of the barrel. A frosting effect, known as satinage, has been applied to the entire surface of the piece to reproduce the “repolished-satin” finish favoured by René Lalique, which creates an extraordinary play of light with the Sauternes.

The LALIQUE barrel is another example of the synergy between wine and crystal generated by the acquisition of Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey by Silvio Denz, Chairman and CEO of Lalique, in 2014. Following the addition of the “Femme et Raisins” engraving to the bottles of Premier Grand Cru Classé Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey since the 2013 vintage, six unique pieces have been created entirely in crystal and are now on show in Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey’s wine store. These six objects, known as the “The DNA of wine by LALIQUE”, represent the grape, the vine leaf, the drop of wine, the cork, the six-litre bottle (Imperial) and the transparent case of six bottles. Further proof of the expertise possessed by the Lalique glassworks and the fresh breath of inspiration emanating from the world of wine.

 

CLPNP101#+

Silvio Denz, Chairman and CEO of Lalique:

This extraordinary piece, crafted at the Lalique factory, showcases the outstanding skills and know-how of our master glassmakers and the standards of excellence for which we strive. The alliance between Lalique and Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey is a marriage of French savoir-faire and savoir-vivre, a fusion between the gold of Sauternes and the crystal of Alsace.

 

David Bolzan, Managing Director at Vignobles Silvio Denz:

“This is something really special for our guests to discover: a work in which wine, a Premier Grand Cru Classé from the 1855 classification, meets crystal, one of the world’s most noble materials. Together they create a third dimension that is quite unique, one that stimulates all the senses. The five-star LALIQUE hotel and restaurant at the heart of the château breathes life intoall these objects, creating a unique setting that celebrates French lifestyle.

 

© photos : Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey

Le Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey
créé la 1ère barrique en cristal Lalique

Lafaurie-Peyraguey-10-2014-Copyright Deepix (19)-BDLe Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey voit les choses en grand pour ses 400 ans et créé pour l’occasion une barrique en cristal exposée au Château à Sauternes.

Les visiteurs du Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey auront la chance de découvrir ce grand vin dans son écrin d’exception à la transparence absolue. La barrique dite « bordelaise » d’une capacité de 225 litres (300 bouteilles) est à présent remplie de Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey 2013 Premier Grand Cru Classé (premier millésime de Monsieur Silvio Denz).

Unique au monde, cette barrique en cristal Lalique est le fruit d’un travail de plus de deux ans rassemblant 12 corps de métiers différents qui se sont notamment appuyés sur la technique dite de cire perdue que René Lalique a pratiquée jusqu’en 1930. Sa particularité ? L’usage de moules en plâtre à usage unique au lieu de moules en fonte qui requiert une très grande technicité. Dessiné par René Lalique en 1928 pour les wagons-lits première classe du Côte d’Azur Pullman-Express, le motif « Femme et Raisins » a été gravé sur la partie avant de la barrique. Un satinage a également été réalisé sur l’ensemble de l’œuvre afin de rester fidèle au savoir-faire de « satiné-repoli » cher à René Lalique, permettant un jeu de lumière unique avec le Sauternes.

La barrique Lalique rentre dans la démarche de synergie déjà entamée entre le vin et le cristal depuis le rachat du Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey en 2014 par Silvio Denz, président-directeur général de Lalique. Après l’ajout de la gravure « Femme et Raisins » sur les bouteilles du Premier Grand Cru Classé, dès le millésime 2013, six pièces uniques ont été créés entièrement en cristal et sont exposées à la vinothèque du Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey. Ces six pièces, nommées « l’ADN du vin par LALIQUE », représentent la grappe de raisin, la feuille de vigne, la goutte de vin, le bouchon, la bouteille de six litres (Impériale) et la caisse transparente de six bouteilles. Une nouvelle preuve du savoir-faire des artisans de la manufacture Lalique et des inspirations nouvelles émanant du monde du vin.

 

CLPNP101#+

Silvio DENZ, président-directeur général de Lalique :

« Cette pièce hors du commun réalisée par les artisans de la manufacture Lalique montre le savoir-faire unique des maîtres-verriers et l’excellence de la Maison Lalique. L’alliance entre Lalique et le Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey, c’est le mariage entre le savoir-faire et le savoir-vivre à la française, la fusion entre l’or de Sauternes et le cristal d’Alsace. »

 

David Bolzan, Directeur Général des Vignobles Silvio Denz :
« Nos chers visiteurs ont désormais la possibilité de découvrir un parcours hors du commun. Le vin, celui d’un Premier Grand Cru Classé en 1855 et le cristal, l’une des matières les plus nobles au monde sont unis pour former un troisième univers d’exception où tous les sens sont sollicités. L’Hôtel & Restaurant LALIQUE*****, au cœur de l’enceinte du château donne vie à tous ces objets pour en faire un lieu unique du savoir-vivre à la franç
aise. »

 

© photos : Château Lafaurie-Peyraguey