Bell Hill

Bell Hill

Bell Hill was founded by Marcel Giesen and Sherwyn Veldhuizen in Northern Canterbury, New Zealand. The vineyard, located in an old lime quarry in the region of Weka Pass, is composed of Pinot Noir and Chardonnay. Between 1997 and 2009, plantings started on only 2 hectares.

Bell Hill has a rich archaeological history. The discovery of fossils of 19 different species of birds going back 1,000 to 2,000 years were identified. Drawings from the Maoris, indigenous Polynesian people, were also discovered on rocks. The South side of the hill looks like a bell; this is where the name “Bell Hill” comes from. March 1, 2015, Bell Hill received the biological certification “BioGro” after having started the project in 2007-2008 in an attempt to preserve the terroir.

The wines are characterised by a consistent quality, with a concentration of fruits and a real expression of the terroir. The Chardonnay has great structure with a lengthening acidity. The Pinot Noir is fruitier with a very supportive tannin structure. Before selling the bottles, the wine benefits from a period of extra ageing. The wine bottles are sealed with screwcaps and not with corks to prevent oxygen from seeping into it.

U'Wine Rising Star - Famous Second

Bell Hill

Bell Hill

Bell Hill a été créé par Marcel Giesen et Sherwyn Veldhuizen dans le nord de Canterbury en Nouvelle Zélande. Situé dans une ancienne carrière de chaux dans la région de Weka Pass, le vignoble est composé de Pinot Noir et de Chardonnay. Les plantations ont eu lieu entre 1997 et 2009 sur seulement 2 hectares.

Bell Hill a une histoire archéologique très riche. La découverte de fossiles de 19 espèces d’oiseaux indigènes datant de 1 000 à 2 000 ans ont été identifié. Des gravures du réalisées par les Maoris, la population polynésienne autochtone, ont aussi été retrouvés sur des rochers. Le côté sud de la colline ressemble à une cloche, d’où le nom « Bell Hill », qui veut dire la colline de cloche. Le 1er mars 2015, Bell Hill a reçu la certification biologique « BioGro » après un travail initié en 2007-2008 afin de préserver le terroir.

Les vins sont caractérisés par une qualité constante, avec une concentration de fruits et une réelle expression du terroir. Le Chardonnay possède une belle structure avec une acidité persistante. Le Pinot Noir est plus fruité avec des tannins structurés. Un vieillissement supplémentaire en bouteille est fait avant la mise en vente. Les bouteilles de vins sont fermées par des bouchons à vis et non en liège pour éviter à l’oxygène de s’infiltrer dans la bouteille.

Rising Star - Famous Second U'Wine