Bruno Giacosa

Bruno Giacosa

Born in 1929 in Nieve, Bruno Giacosa was recognized as one of the best winemakers in the Langhe region. He followed the path of his father and grandfather and started to work in the family business at the age of 15.

His philosophy? He believes that the wines produced in the past were better, at the time when yields were lower, where agriculture was simpler but more tedious, and where winemaking relied less on tools ans techniques and more on the preservation of the fundamental attributes of a given grape variety. It produces wines of character, endowed with a great aromatic richness.

He acquired the sublime Fallero vineyard in Barolo in 1982 and some parcels of vineyards Asiti and Rabaja in Barbaresco in 1996. The famous oenologist Dante Scaglione joins him in the adventure in 1990, they decided together to bottle only the best parcels of the vintage.

He died in 2018 and his daughter Bruna runs the estate today. The wines of Bruno Giacosa combine richness and aromatic finesse, elegance, structure and longevity.

U'Wine Famous Second - U'Wine Rising Star

Bruno Giacosa

Bruno Giacosa

en 1929 à Nieve, Bruno Giacosa était reconnu comme l’un des meilleurs vignerons de la région des Langhes. Il suivit les traces de son père et de son grand-père et commença à travailler dans la société familiale dès l’âge de 15 ans.

Sa philosophie ? Il estime que les vins produits dans le passé étaient meilleurs, à l’époque où les rendements étaient inférieurs, où l’agriculture était plus simple, mais plus fastidieuse, et où la vinification misait moins sur les outils et les techniques et davantage sur la préservation des attributs fondamentaux d’un cépage donné. Il produit des vins de caractère, dotés d’une grande richesse arômatique.

Il fit l’acquisition du sublime vignoble Fallero à Barolo en 1982 et de certains parcelle des vignobles Asiti et Rabaja à Barbaresco en 1996. Le célèbre oenologue Dante Scaglione le rejoint dans l’aventure en 1990, ils décideront ensemble d’embouteiller seulement les meilleures parcelles du millésime.

Décédé en 2018, c’est sa fille Bruna qui dirige aujourd’hui le domaine. Les vins de Bruno Giacosa allient richesse et finesse aromatique, élégance, structure, puissance et longévité.