Bruno Rocca

Bruno Rocca

« Paradoxically, our goal is not to “make” wine, but to guide its evolution to help it best express itself. Our land, not the producer, is inscribed on the wine. »

It was at the end of the 1950s that the Rocca family’s history became intimately linked to one of the most famous wines of these hills: Rabajà. It was thanks to the intuition and courage of Francesco Rocca (1907-1978), nephew of the first Francesco, that the family moved to Rabajà at its highest point.

Possessing an oenological heritage like no other and eager to develop the hundreds of years of agricultural history behind the Rocca family, Francesco Bruno decided to step up and specialize in viniculture. It was in 1978 that the first wine harvest took place under the name of the Rocca family.

Francesco continuously improved the quality and uniqueness of his wines. It is in this atmosphere of renewal and rediscovery of tradition that Bruno Rocca modernized the family business. The objective was to improve the quality of the wines produced and to promote the extraordinary “family” cru, Rabajà. They were able to do this in particular thanks to a radical change in the management of the vineyards and the work in the cellars by focusing on the maximization of the quantity.

In 1990, their cellar became known and recognised around the world. The family bought new vineyards beyond Barbaresco and started producing other great wines from Piedmont: Langhe Nebbiolo, Barbera d’Alba and d’Asti, Dolcetto and Chardonnay.

Today, Bruno Rocca’s children, Luisa and Francesco, work alongside him in the family business.

U'Wine Rising Star - U'Wine Famous Second

Bruno Rocca

Bruno Rocca

« Paradoxalement, notre objectif n’est pas de « faire » du vin, mais d’orienter son évolution pour l’aider à s’exprimer au mieux. Notre terre, et non le producteur, est inscrite sur le vin. » Bruno Rocca

C’est à la fin des années 50 que l’histoire familiale Rocca devient intimement liée à l’un des crus les plus célèbres de ces collines : Rabajà. C’est grâce à l’intuition et au courage de Francesco Rocca (1907-1978), neveu du premier Francesco, que la famille a déménagé à Rabajà à son point le plus haut.

Possédant un patrimoine œnologique pas comme les autres et désireux de développer les centaines d’années d’histoire agricole derrière la famille Rocca, Francesco Bruno décida d’accélérer et de se spécialiser dans la viniculture. C’est en 1978 que se fait la première récolte de vin sous le nom de la famille Rocca.

Francesco continua sans cesse à améliorer la qualité et le caractère unique de ses vins. C’est dans cette atmosphère de renouveau et de redécouverte de la tradition que Bruno Rocca modernisa l’entreprise familiale. L’objectif était d’améliorer la qualité des vins produits et de valoriser l’extraordinaire cru “familial”, Rabajà. Ils ont pu notamment pu le faire grâce à un changement radical dans la gestion des vignobles et le travail dans les caves en se concentrant sur la maximisation de la quantité.

En 1990 leur cave est devenue connue et reconnue dans le monde entier. La famille acheta de nouveaux vignobles au-delà du Barbaresco et a commencé à produire d’autres grands vins du Piémont : Langhe Nebbiolo, Barbera d’Alba et d’Asti, Dolcetto et Chardonnay.

Aujourd’hui, les enfants de Bruno Rocca, Luisa et Francesco, travaillent à ses côtés dans l’entreprise familiale.

Rising Star U'Wine - Famous Second U'Wine