Château Côte de Baleau

Château Côte de Baleau

Château Côte de Baleau in the heart of Saint-Emilion, stretches over 18 hectares of vines of which 15 are classified. Situated on Bordeaux’s right bank, the property has existed for four centuries and is a part of the Reiffers family’s heritage. It was part of a reward (citadel of Côtes de Baleau and les Grands Murailles) given by king Louis XIV to one of the descendants of the family. An elegant Château was built on the property at the end of the XIXth century.

Since the beginning of the 1990s, Sophie Fourcade, the family’s heiress runs the Château. Her ambition allowed her to obtain the Châteaux’s classification as Grands Crus of Saint-Emilion in 2012 while respecting the Reiffers family’s traditions. The pruning, green harvest and thinning ensure a perfect ripeness of the grapes. In 2013, the Cuvelier family, already owners of five estates, four of which are Grands Crus Classés of Saint-Emilion, bought the Château back from the Reiffers. It begins renovating technical tools and the cellar.

Château Côte de Baleau’s vineyard is on average 35 years old with a variety of grapes composed of 80% Merlot, 15% of Cabernet Franc and 5% of Cabernet Sauvignon. It takes advantage of the oceanic climate with its hot summers and a certain level of humidity.  The harvests are done by hand, the grapes are dropped off at the cellar equipped with the latest testing and monitoring technologies. The wines offer charm while expressing fruity notes, with smoothness and elegance on the palate.

U'Wine Rising Star

Château Côte de Baleau

Château Côte de Baleau

Le Château Côte de Baleau en plein cœur de Saint-Emilion, s’étend sur 18 hectares de vignes dont 15 sont classés. Situé sur la rive droite de Bordeaux, le domaine existe depuis quatre siècles et fait partie du patrimoine de la famille Reiffers. Il faisait partie d’un lot de récompenses (citadelle de Côtes de Baleau et les Grands Murailles) offert par le roi Louis XIV à l’un des descendants de la famille. Un élégant Château est construit sur le domaine à la fin du XIXe siècle.

Depuis le début des années 1990, Sophie Fourcade, héritière de la famille dirige le Château. Son ambition lui a permis d’obtenir le classement de la propriété au classement des Grands Crus de Saint-Emilion en 2012 tout en respectant la tradition de la famille Reiffers. La taille et les vendanges sont pratiquées en vert et les éclaircissages assurent une parfaite maturité des raisins. En 2013, la famille Cuvelier, déjà propriétaires de cinq domaines dont quatre Grands Crus Classés à Saint-Emilion, rachète la propriété à la famille Reiffers. Elle entreprend des travaux de rénovation des outils techniques et des caves.

Le vignoble de Château Côte de Baleau est âgé en moyenne de 35 ans avec un encépagement composé de 80% de Merlot, 15% de Cabernet Franc et 5% de Cabernet Sauvignon. Il profite du climat océanique avec les fortes chaleurs de l’été et un certain niveau d’humidité. Les vendanges sont réalisées à la main, les raisins sont déposés au chai équipé des dernières technologies de contrôle et de surveillance. Les vins présentent beaucoup de charme avec une belle qualité de fruit, avec une vraie douceur et élégance dans la bouche.

Rising Star U'Wine