Château de Pressac

Château De Pressac

Grand Cru Classé of Saint-Emilion, the Château de Pressac enjoys a beautiful view of its vineyards. Owners since 1997, Dominique and Jean-François Quenin give back to the property all its history and to their wines all the elegance and the strength of the soil. Following their arrival, 80% of new vines were planted on three types of soil: clay, clay-limestone and sandy.

The property covers 42 ha in one piece, including 36 hectares for the vineyard, and overhangs 80m the level of the Dordogne. Which assets for this vineyard? Its very spectacular terraces located on a south facing mound. They enable to plant a vineyard in the form of a terrace, limiting the erosion and the harmful effects of the gully. It enables also to save a huge space for the vine rows development.

The castle was built in the Middle Ages as evidenced by its medieval door and its architecture. At the beginning of the Renaissance, the Château de Pressac had no less than 27 towers. Following the French victory at the Battle of Castillon-la-Bataille, the surrender took place at Château de Pressac, thus ending the Hundred Years War on July 20, 1453.

Château de Pressac asserts itself in a powerful, elegant and silky style. In a purple color, the wines develop aromas of black and red fruits (blackcurrant, cherry, blackberries, blueberries) with hints of spice and undergrowth.

U'Wine Rising Star

Château de Pressac

Château De Pressac

Grand Cru Classé de Saint-Emilion, le Château de Pressac bénéficie d’une superbe vue sur ses vignes. Propriétaires depuis 1997, Dominique et Jean-François Quenin rendent à la propriété toute son histoire et à leurs vins toute l’élégance et la force du terroir. A leur arrivée, 80% de nouvelles vignes ont été plantées sur trois types de sol : argile, argilo-calcaire et sablonneux.

La propriété s’étend sur 42 ha d’un seul tenant, dont 36 hectares destinés à la vigne, et surplombe de 80m le niveau de la Dordogne. L’atout de ce vignoble ? Ses très spectaculaires terrasses situées sur un tertre plein sud. Elles ont permis de planter un vignoble sous forme de terrasse, limitant l’érosion et les effets néfastes du ravinement. C’est également un immense gain de place pour l’aménagement de rangs de vignes.

Le Château fut bâti au Moyen-Âge comme en témoigne sa porte médiévale et son architecture. Au début de la Renaissance, le Château de Pressac comptait pas moins de 27 tours. Suite à la victoire française à la bataille de Castillon-la-Bataille, la reddition eu lieu au Château de Pressac, mettant ainsi fin à la guerre de Cent Ans le 20 juillet 1453.

Château de Pressac s’affirme dans un style puissant, élégant et soyeux. D’une robe pourpre, les vins développent des arômes de fruits noirs et rouges (cassis, cerise, mûres, myrtilles) avec des notes d’épices et de sous-bois.

Rising Star U'Wine