Château La Rose Figeac

Château La Rose Figeac

The story of the chateau started in 1961 when Louis Rapin, owner of Château La Tour Figeac (Saint Emilion Grand Cru Classé), bought his neighbour’s vineyards in the Pomerol appellation. He then grouped the other plots that he owned under the name of “Château La Rose Figeac”.

Following a succession within the Rapin-Despagne family (present for two centuries in Saint-Emilion), Nathalie Despagne inherited this beautiful estate which she started managing in August, 2013. Under her direction, several reconstructions took place, and they included restructuring the vineyard (planting 90% Merlot Noir and 10% Cabernet Franc nowadays) as well as building a modern vat room and a cellar.

Nathalie also decided to maintain the Château’s commitment to organic farming, certified by “ECOCERT” since 2009. “Letting the terroir express itself is the most important thing above all. We need to respect the terroir and not force it or tame it, but rather master it in order to produce a wine with refined tannins that is pure, elegant and fresh, bringing charm to each tasting even when it is young. “

U'Wine Rising Star

Château La Rose Figeac

Château La Rose Figeac

L’histoire du château commence en 1961 lorsque Louis Rapin, propriétaire du Château La Tour Figeac (Saint Emilion Grand Cru Classé), achète les vignes de son voisin en appellation Pomerol. Il a ensuite regroupé les autres parcelles qu’il possédait sous le nom de “Château La Rose Figeac”.

Suite à une succession au sein de la famille Rapin-Despagne (présente depuis deux siècles à Saint-Emilion), Nathalie Despagne a hérité de ce beau domaine qu’elle a commencé à gérer depuis août 2013. Sous sa direction, plusieurs reconstructions ont eu lieu, dont la restructuration du vignoble (plantation de 90% Merlot Noir et 10% Cabernet Franc aujourd’hui) ainsi que la construction d’un cuvier moderne et d’une cave.

Nathalie décide également de maintenir l’engagement du château en agriculture biologique, certifié par «ECOCERT» depuis 2009. « Laisser le terroir s’exprimer librement c’est avant tout le respecter et non vouloir le forcer, le dompter, mais plutôt l’apprivoiser afin de produire un vin, aux tanins raffinés, pur, profond, élégant, frais, dense, qui charme (même jeune) lors de la dégustation. »

Rising Star U'Wine