Château Meyney

Château Meyney

Château Meyney’s history dates back to the year 1662 as it is one of Medoc’s oldest properties. The owners were the Pères Feuillants, craftsmen of the first plantations at the time. After being purchased by the Luetkens family during the Revolution, Château Meyney was bought by Désiré Cordier in 1919. Désiré Cordier, founder of the Lorraine trading company “Cordier”, wanted to expand his portfolio of properties in Bordeaux. To further enhance the value of the potential of this Saint-Estèphe Grand Cru, Crédit Agricole Grands Crus, subsidiary of Crédit Agricole acquired it in 2004.

The richness of the wine is exceptional thanks to the blue vein clay located underground at around 2.6m deep and with a thickness of 3m, a real opportunity for the vineyard. The 51 hectares are located on a slope with an altitude of 20m, allowing a natural drain of the vines. They are planted with 50% of Cabernet Sauvignon, 35% of Merlot and 15% of Petit Verdot and are cultivated the traditional way, meaning by green pruning and thinning operations. The average age of the vines is between 35 and 40 years with a plantation density of around 7 500 feet / ha and a sustainable viticulture with the aim to respect the environment.

Today, Château Meyney is run by Anne Le Naour, technical manager of the estate who is also consulted by oenologist Huber de Bouärd. Château Meyney’s wines are powerful, structured and aromatic with hints of leather and musk that develop over time.

U'Wine Rising Star

Château Meyney

Château Meyney

L’histoire du Château Meyney remonte à l’année 1662 puisqu’il s’agit de l’une des plus anciennes propriétés du Médoc. Les propriétaires étaient les Pères Feuillants, artisans des premières plantations à cette époque. Après avoir été racheté par la famille Luetkens durant la Révolution, le Château Meyney est acquis par Désiré Cordier en 1919. Désiré Cordier, fondateur de la maison de négoce lorraine « Cordier » souhaitait étendre son portefeuille de propriétés à Bordeaux. Pour continuer à valoriser le potentiel de ce Grand Cru de Saint-Estèphe, le Crédit Agricole Grands Crus, filiale du Crédit Agricole l’acquiert en 2004.

La richesse de vin est exceptionnelle grâce à la veine d’argile bleue en sous-sol d’environ 2,6m de profondeur sur 3m d’épaisseur, une vraie chance pour le vignoble. Les 51 hectares se trouvent sur une pente de 20m d’altitude qui permet un drainage naturel de la vigne. Ils sont plantés avec 50% de Cabernet Sauvignon, 35% de Merlot et 15% de Petit Verdot et cultivés de manière traditionnelle c’est-à-dire par une pratique de la taille et opérations en vert. L’âge moyen des vignes est entre 35 et 40 ans avec une densité de plantation de 7 500 pieds/ha et une viticulture raisonnée dans le but de respecter l’environnement.

Aujourd’hui, Château Meyney est dirigé par Anne Le Naour, directrice technique du domaine qui est également conseillée par l’œnologue Huber de Bouärd. Les vins du Château Meyney sont puissants, structurés et aromatiques avec des notes de cuir et de musc qui se développent au cours du temps.

 

Rising Star U'Wine