Château Olivier

Château Olivier

Château Olivier belongs to the Bethmann family, a very old family from Bordeaux established since 1867. Located at 11km from Bordeaux, the Château is surrounded by forests, meadows and ponds. The architecture, the nature, the quality of the buildings and its emergence from the woods like a glade makes it a unique and remarkable place. The name Olivier is a very old seigneury of which traces can be found all the way back to the Middle Ages.

Today, the 60-hectare estate is still run by Bethmann’s descendants, assisted by Laurent Lebrun, agronomist, oenologist and general manager since 2002.

Château Olivier owns magnificent soils that produce red wine and white wine, both classified as Crus Classés de Graves in 1953. Graves’ land benefits from a soil with a rare geological quality linked to the Garonne’s movement tens of thousands of years ago.

The very seducing white wine has a nice fullness with a good density on the palate whereas the red wine is tender and elegant. Harvesting is done by hand and the ageing part is important to the Château, as it renews a third of its barrels annually to avoid the predominance of woody aromas. Recently, a geological survey of the land has shown new potentials that already rhymes with excellence.

U'Wine Rising Star

Château Olivier

Château Olivier

Le domaine de Château Olivier appartient à la famille de Bethmann, une très ancienne famille bordelaise établie depuis 1867. Situé à 11km de Bordeaux, le Château est entouré de forêts, prairies et de plans d’eau. L’architecture, la nature, la qualité des bâtiments et son émergence des bois comme une clairière en fait un lieu unique et remarquable. Le nom Olivier est une très ancienne seigneurie dont on trouve des traces déjà au Moyen Âge.

Aujourd’hui, le domaine de 60 hectares est toujours dirigé par les descendants de la famille de Bethmann, aidée de Laurent Lebrun, ingénieur agronome, œnologue et directeur général depuis 2002.

Le Château Olivier possède des terroirs magnifiques qui produisent un vin rouge et un vin blanc, tous deux classés en Crus Classés de Graves en 1953. Le terroir des Graves profite d’un sol d’une qualité géologique rare liée aux mouvements de la Garonne il y a quelques dizaines de milliers d’années.

Le vin blanc très séduisant a une belle ampleur et une jolie densité en bouche tandis que le vin rouge est tendre et élégant. Les vendanges sont faites à la main et l’élevage est une étape importante pour le Château, qui renouvelle chaque année un tiers des barriques pour éviter la prédominance des arômes boisés. Récemment, un inventaire géologique a montré de nouvelles potentialités sur ce terroir qui rime déjà avec excellence.

Rising Star U'Wine