Clos de Tart

Clos de Tart

In the heart of Côte de Nuits in Burgundy, in the village of Morey-Saint-Denis, you can find Clos de Tart. Founded in 1141 by Tart Abbey’s Bernardine Cistercians, the domain was then taken over by the biggest family in Burgundy: the Marey-Monge in 1971. This family was already famous in the region after having bought Château de Pommard. In 1855, the estate was classified as “Tête de Cuvée”, the only one to benefit from this title in the village.

In 1932, Clos de Tart was sold at an auction to a negociant by the name of Henri Mommessin. It was then repurchased by the Pinault family, also owners of Château Latour in Pauillac and Domain d’Eugénie in Vosne-Romanée, in 2018.

The name “Clos” comes from the historical stone wall that surrounds the domain, entirely renovated in 2006. The 7 hectares of vines are planted perpendicularly to the slope exposing them to east-south-east with a north-south orientation. This exposition helps fight against erosion and allows the grapes to catch sunlight on both sides in the morning and afternoon. This orientation of the vines is very rare in Burgundy. Still today, the harvest is done manually.

Frédéric Engerer, general manager of Artémis Domains and Alessandro Noli, the domain’s manager, introduced biodynamic practices as of 2016. They then received the Biodyvin certification in 2019. In that same year, renovations were done on the building to showcase the architecture of the domain.

The Grands Crus Clos de Tart has nose hints of fresh red fruits like strawberry, blackcurrant and plum. The nobility of the terroir gives a unique taste and makes Clos de Tart one of the best wines in the world.

U'Wine Legend

Clos de Tart

Clos de Tart

Au cœur de la Côte de Nuits en Bourgogne, dans le village de Morey-Saint-Denis, se trouve le Clos de Tart. Fondé en 1141 par les moniales Bernardines de l’Abbaye de Tart, le domaine est ensuite acquis en 1791 par la plus grande famille de Bourgogne , les Marey-Monge. Cette famille était déjà renommée dans la région après avoir acheté le Château de Pommard. Le domaine fut classé comme Tête de Cuvée en 1855, le seul du village à bénéficier de ce titre.

En 1932, le Clos de Tart est vendu aux enchères à un négociant du nom de Henri Mommessin pour être racheté en 2018 par la famille Pinault, également propriétaire de Château Latour à Pauillac et du Domaine d’Eugénie à Vosne-Romanée.

Le nom de « Clos » vient de l’historique mur en pierre qui entoure le domaine, entièrement restauré en 2006. Les 7 hectares de vignes sont exposés à l’est-sud-est plantés perpendiculairement à la ligne de pente avec une orientation nord-sud. Cette exposition aide à lutter contre l’érosion et permet aux raisins d’avoir la lumière du soleil de deux côtés entre le matin et l’après-midi. Cette orientation des vignes est très rare pour la Bourgogne. Les vendanges sont faites à la main encore aujourd’hui.

Frédéric Engerer, directeur générale d’Artémis Domaines et Alessandro Noli, directeur du domaine, ont introduit les pratiques de la biodynamie à partir de 2016. Ils ont ensuite reçu la certification Biodyvin en 2019. Des rénovations sur le bâtiment ont été faite en 2019 afin de mettre en valeur l’architecture de ce domaine. 

Le Grand Cru Clos de Tart présente un nez aux arômes de fruits rouges frais comme la fraise, le cassis et la prune. La noblesse de son terroir unique lui donne un goût unique et fait du Clos de Tart l’un des meilleurs vins du monde.

Legend U'Wine