Eisele

Eisele

Located in Napa Valley in California, Eisele Vineyard owns a vineyard where plantings had started at the end of the 19th century by Jackson G. Randall and Charles Nathan Pickett. The domain belonged to Pickett and his family until World War II. At the time, the only grapes present in the vineyard were Zinfandel and Riesling. Between 1880 and 1960, the vineyard continues to grow whilst surviving different catastrophes of the century: the phylloxera crisis that devastated the wine world, the Prohibition that reduced the consumption of alcohol, and finally the Great Depression.

In 1969, the domain was bought by Milton and Barbara Eisele, a retired couple who wanted to start producing wines. The domain then passes on to Paul Draper, Ridge Vineyard’s winemaker, and then Daphne and Bart Araujos, the first American winemakers that introduced biodynamic agriculture. As of 2013, Eisele Vineyard belongs to the group Artemis that changed the old name “Araujo Estate” to “Eisele Vineyard.”

In 1964, the first Cabernet Sauvignon was planted. Three quarters of the terroir is dedicated to this grape along with its varieties like Cabernet Franc and Petit Verdot. The vineyard uses organic agriculture since 1998 and biodynamic agriculture as of 2000 to glorify the wines and preserve the soils as conscientiously as possible. With hints of blackcurrant, blackberries, cedarwood, and chocolate, the Cabernets present a nice complexity, with a silky texture and long shelf life.

U'Wine Famous Second - Legend

Eisele

Eisele

Situé dans la Napa Valley en Californie, Eisele possède un vignoble dont les plantations ont débuté à la fin du 19e siècle par Jackson G. Randall et Charles Nathan Pickett. Le domaine appartenait à Pickett et sa famille jusqu’à la Seconde Guerre Mondiale. A cette époque, seuls les cépages Zinfandel et Riesling étaient présents sur le vignoble. Entre 1880 et 1960, le vignoble continue de s’agrandir tout en survivant aux diverses catastrophes du siècle : le phylloxéra qui dévaste le monde du vin, la Prohibition qui réduit la consommation d’alcool et enfin la Grande Dépression.

Le domaine est acheté en 1969 par Milton et Barbara Eisele, un couple de retraités souhaitant se lancer dans la production de vin. Le domaine passe ensuite dans les mains successivement de Paul Draper, vigneron de Ridge Vineyards, puis Daphne et Bart Araujos, premiers vignerons américains ayant introduit la biodynamie . Depuis 2013, Eisele appartient au groupe Artemis qui modifient l’ancien nom de « Araujo Estate » pour « Eisele Vineyard ».

En 1964 sont plantés les premiers Cabernet Sauvignon. Les trois quarts du terroir sont dédiés à ce cépage ainsi que ses variétés comme le Cabernet Franc et le Petit Verdot. Le vignoble est exploité en agriculture biologique depuis 1998 et en biodynamie depuis 2000 pour magnifiquer les vins et préserver le vignoble de la manière la plus consciencieuse possible. Avec des notes de cassis, de mûres, de cèdre et de chocolat, les Cabernets présentant une très belle complexité, une texture soyeuse et une très longue capacité de garde. 

Famous Second - Legend U'Wine