Massolino

Massolino

Founded by Giovanni in 1896, Massolino is located in the heart of the Piedmont municipality of Serralunga d’Alba. Giovanni was the first person to introduce electricity in the village. His son Giuseppe built the first wine cave in 1934. 3 out of 6 of Giuseppe’s children: Giovanni, Camilla and Renato, bought three vineyards to follow in their father’s footsteps. They bought Margheria, Parafada and Vigna Rionda, the most important and famous terroirs of Serralunga.

In Serralunga d’Alba, vineyards and grapes are precious. A law from the XIVth century states: “May no man dare to cut or have someone cut the vines in the vineyards of Serralunga, with ill intent, else he be fined the sum of twenty-five lira.” In the 1990s, two oenologists Franco and Roberto joined the family after having bought another vineyard: Parussi. Today, they are running the domain along with their uncles.

Massolino’s 4 wines are only made with the Nebbiolo grape, a very old glorified grape variety on the soils of Piedmont. As it’s a region known for being foggy, the grape is named after the word “nebbia” which means fog in Italian. Its thin film makes it vulnerable to diseases and the cold. Massolino’s grapes have the advantage of being oriented towards the South, which extends their ripening duration. 

The crus of the domain are known for having a floral bouquet with hints of spices, characteristic of the Nebbiolo grape. The aromas can vary depending on the wine, but they all have a rich structure. After more than 120 years of history, 4 generations and 40 hectares of vineyards, Massolino always has and always will rhyme with excellence.

U'Wine Rising Star - Famous Second

Massolino

Massolino

Crée par Giovanni en 1896, Massolino se trouve au cœur de la commune piémontaise de Serralunga d’Alba. Giovanni a été la toute première personne à introduire le courant électrique dans le village. Son fils Giuseppe construit la première cave à vin en 1934. 3 des 6 enfants de Giuseppe, Giovanni, Camilla et Renato, achetent alors trois vignobles pour poursuivre le chemin initié par leur père. Ils rachètent ainsi Margheria, Parafada et Vigna Rionda, les terroirs les plus importants et les plus célèbres de Serralunga.

A Serralunga d’Alba, les vignobles et les vignes sont précieux. Une loi du XIVème siècle disait : « Que personne n’ose couper ou faire couper les vignes des vignobles de Serralunga, dans une mauvaise intention, sous peine d’une amende de vingt-cinq lires ». Dans les années 1990, les deux œnologues Franco et Roberto ont rejoint la famille après avoir acheté un autre vignoble : Parussi. Aujourd’hui, c’est eux qui dirigent le domaine avec leurs oncles.

Les 4 vins de Massolino sont créés uniquement à partir du cépage Nebbiolo, un cépage très ancien magnifié sur les sols du Piémont. Son nom vient du mot « nebbia » qui signifie brouillard en italien, à l’image du Piémont qui est une région brumeuse. Sa pellicule fine le rend sensible aux maladies et au froid. Les vignes de Massolino ont la chance d’être orientées vers le sud, ce qui prolonge la durée de maturation des raisins.

Les crus du domaine sont connus pour avoir un magnifique bouquet floral avec des notes épicées, caractéristiques du cépage de Nebbiolo. Les aromes varient selon les vins mais tous possèdent une structure riche. Après plus de 120 années d’histoire, 4 générations et 40 hectares de vignoble, Massolino rime encore et toujours avec excellence. 

Rising Star - Famous Second U'Wine