Quilceda Creek

Quilceda Creek

Created in 1978 by Alex and Jeannette Golitzin, Quilceda Creek can be found in Snohomish, in the State of Washington in the United States. In 1992, their son Paul Golitzin, joined his father as a winemaker after a trip to France where he fell in love with wine. Mentored by his father and great-uncle, Paul takes advantage of his knowledge to create his own style of wine.

Wine is not new in the family because they are descendants from Prince Lev Golitsyn, one of the most important Russian winemakers. He started the production of sparkling wines in Russia at the end of the 19thcentury. After World War II, Alex’s parents emigrated to the United States after fleeing to Paris during the Russian Revolution in 1917. Alex often visited his uncle André Tchelistcheff, legendary winemaker in the United States, also known as “the Dean of American Winemaking.”

Paul’s ambition and determination allowed him to create six 100% Cabernet Sauvignon wines that have received the score of 100/100 by American critic Robert Parker. In 2006, Quilceda Creek became the first American domain outside of California to receive that score. “A great bottle of wine is one that keeps your interest from the first glass to the last, leaving you wanting more.” Paul explains. The Cabernet Sauvignon Columbia Valley 2005 was served at the presidential dinner at the White House with Presidents Barack Obama and Hu Jintao in January 2011.

Quilceda Creek’s wines has nose hints of red fruit, aniseed, and black walnut. It is silky and rich, with a long and persistent finish on the palate.

U'Wine Famous Second

Quilceda Creek

Quilceda Creek

Crée en 1978 par Alex et Jeannette Golitzin, Quilceda Creek se trouve à Snohomish, dans l’Etat de Washington aux États-Unis. Leur fils, Paul Golitzin, a rejoint son père en tant que vigneron en 1992 après un voyage en France où il tombe amoureux du vin. Sous la tutelle de son père et grand-oncle, Paul met à profit ses connaissances pour créer son propre style de vin.

Le vin n’est pas une chose nouvelle dans cette famille puisque qu’elle descend du Prince Lev Golitsyn, l’un des principaux vignerons russes qui a lancé la production de vins mousseux en Russie à la fin du 19e siècle. Les parents d’Alex ont émigré aux États-Unis après la Seconde Guerre Mondiale après avoir fui à Paris durant la Révolution Russe en 1917. Alex rendait souvent visite à son oncle André Tchelistcheff, légendaire viticulteur aux États-Unis, aussi connu comme le « doyen de la vinification américaine ».

L’ambition et la détermination de Paul lui ont permis de créer six vins 100% Cabernet Sauvignon qui ont reçu la note de 100/100 par le critique américain Robert Parker. En 2006, Quilceda Creek est devenu le premier domaine américain en dehors de la Californie à recevoir cette note. « Une bonne bouteille de vin est une bouteille qui suscite votre intérêt du premier au dernier verre et qui vous laisse en vouloir encore plus » explique ainsi Paul. Le  Cabernet Sauvignon Columbia Valley 2005 a été bu lors d’un dîner à la Maison-Blanche entre le président Barack Obama et et Hu Jintao au mois de janvier 2011.

Les vins de Quilceda Creek ont un nez qui associe des notes de fruits rouges, d’anis, de noix noire et de sous-bois. La bouche est soyeuse et riche, avec une finale longue et persistante.

Famous Second U'Wine