Lafite-Rothschild Château is a “premier grand cru” according to the official classification of Bordeaux wines of 1855.
The Château Lafite takes its name from the family of La Fite, formerly allied to the house of Foix through the marriage of Joseph de Foix, Baron of Mardogne, knight of the Order of the King, who had married Françoise de La Fite, daughter of Thibaud. On the 8th of August 1868, Baron James de Rothschild purchased Château Lafite in public sale as part of the estate of Joseph Ignace Vanlerberghe. From 1946 to 1974 Élie de Rothschild took over Château Lafite-Rothschild and in 1975, Baron Eric de Rothschild, nephew of Baron Elie, took his succession. The property management is carried out since 1962 by a unique team overseeing Château Lafite-Rothschild and Château Duhart-Milon given the contiguity of the two properties. Charles Chevallier, Technical Director of both Châteaux, is assisted by Christophe Leave, oenologist and winemaker, and Regis Porfilet Vineyards Manager. The techniques used are identical for both domains and remain traditional. They include strict control of yields, harvesting by hand and many other works are done manually throughout the year. Little or no chemical fertilizers are use and some regular manure inputs allow the vine to reach a high age, grubbing will always be a heart-breaking moment that, will only happen when the vines are over 80 years of age.