Château La Tour Carnet
Château La Tour Carnet was built in the 12th century. It is one of the oldest and most beautiful estates in the Médoc. Built in 1120, the Château’s iconic tower is medieval, just like the rest of the estate’s architecture. Its name comes from the squire Carnet who is given the property as an inheritance from Viscount Jean de Foix, as a reward for his bravery. After difficult years punctuated by diseases in the vineyard, wars and economic crises, Louis Lipschitz bought the estate in 1972. He restored the buildings and replanted the vineyards, then transferred the property to his daughter Marie-Claire Pélegrin in 1978. In 1999, Bernard Magrez, owner of Château Pape Clément, purchased the estate and in turn undertook major renovations, both on the Château and in the vineyard, the fermenting room and the cellar. Between tradition and innovation, the entire team is committed to this quest for excellence in order to best reveal the potential of the terroir.